Independent Board Member Profiles


Jaideep Bajaj

Chair, ZS Associates Inc.

Jaideep Bajaj joined Mathematica’s board of directors in 2020. As chairman of ZS Associates Inc., a global professional services firm, he advises senior leaders in the pharmaceutical and health care industries on sales and marketing issues. Bajaj has deep expertise in commercial health care models and value-based health care. In addition to helping build innovation teams in customer-centric marketing and health care ecosystems, his roles have ranged from software development and mathematical modelling to client services for a diverse portfolio of clients. His expertise includes the intersection of strategy, effectiveness, analytics, and technology for clients in the United States, Canada, Australia, Mexico, and other countries.


Nancy Birdsall

Senior Fellow and President Emeritus, Center for Global Development

Nancy Birdsall is a senior fellow and president emeritus of the Center for Global Development, having served as founding president for its first 15 years from 2001-2016. From 1993 to 1998, Birdsall served as executive vice president of the Inter-American Development Bank where she oversaw a $30 billion public and private loan portfolio. Before that she worked for 14 years in research, policy, and management positions at the World Bank. Prior to launching the Center, she served for three years as senior associate and director of the Economic Reform Project at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace where her work focused on globalization, inequality and the reform of the international financial institutions. She is the author, co-author, or editor of more than a dozen books and many scholarly papers. Shorter pieces of her writing have appeared in dozens of US and Latin American newspapers and periodicals. Birdsall received her PhD in economics from Yale University and an MA from Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies. Ms. Birdsall joined the board in 2017.


Maria Cancian

Dean of the McCourt School of Public Policy at Georgetown University

Maria Cancian joined the board in May 2021. She is the dean of the McCourt School of Public Policy at Georgetown University, where her research focuses on policies and programs that affect family well-being, particularly among underserved families or those experiencing poverty. Before joining Georgetown University, Cancian, who earned a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Michigan, served as associate dean for social sciences and fiscal initiatives and as director of the Institute for Research on Poverty at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. She also served as senior advisor to the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services, and deputy assistant secretary for policy for the Administration for Children and Families. Cancian is a champion of inclusive and culturally responsive engagement in policy research and a leading voice for greater diversity in the research community.


Lee C. Gatewood

Senior Investment Officer, Cape Cod Five Trust and Asset Management (retired)

Lee C. Gatewood joined the Mathematica board in 2008. He is a financial expert and recently retired as a senior investment officer at Cape Cod Five Trust and Asset Management. Previously, Gatewood served as the managing director of business analysis and development at Merriman Capital, Inc. and worked for Merrill Lynch as director of New York institutional equity sales. He also served as a managing director for Lehman Brothers, Paine Webber, and UBS Warburg. He holds an M.B.A. in finance from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.


Donna Levin

CEO, Arthur M. Blank School for Entrepreneurial Leadership at Babson College

Donna Levin was appointed to Mathematica’s Board of Directors, effective July 2021. An accomplished entrepreneur and business leader committed to addressing challenges through innovation and technology, she is the CEO of the Arthur M. Blank School for Entrepreneurial Leadership at Babson College. Previously, she was the executive director of innovation and entrepreneurship at Worcester Polytechnic Institute and an entrepreneur-in-residence at the Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship. Levin is also a co-founder of, an online marketplace that helps families across 18 countries find caregivers to provide child care, senior care, special needs care, tutoring, pet care, and housekeeping. She has a distinguished track record of leveraging data and analytics to inform strategic decision making and has built and led high-performing teams driven by core values that facilitate collaboration, innovation, partnership, and growth. She earned an MBA from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and has served on the boards of Zero to Three, WBUR, and the Center for Women and Enterprise, among others.


Matthew Salganik

Professor of Sociology, Princeton University

Matt Salganik was appointed to Mathematica’s Board of Directors in July 2018. Author of Bit by Bit: Social Research in the Digital Age, he is a professor of sociology at Princeton University and widely recognized for his expertise in computational social science. Salganik’s research has been sponsored by organizations including the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the Joint United Nations Program for HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS), the Russell Sage Foundation, and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, among others. A Fulbright fellow, he earned a Ph.D. in sociology from Columbia University and an M.A. in sociology from Cornell University.


Judy Smythe

Chief Executive Officer, Aural Analytics 

A member of Mathematica’s Board since July 2021, Judy Smythe has deep experience in various areas of the health care industry, including pharmaceuticals, clinical research, and care management. With a focus on data-driven decision making that spans her 30-year career, Smythe is chief executive officer of Aural Analytics and previously served in executive leadership positions at McKesson, WebMD, and Visa. Smythe earned a Master of International Management from the Thunderbird School of Global Management and has worked with numerous technology-enabled health care startups focused on leveraging innovations and analytics to improve patient outcomes.